What do I have here?

General purpose topics/chat goes in here
itmonolith

What do I have here?

Post by itmonolith »

Hello all.
First off let me say that I have no experience with AJS bikes so forgive me for the horrible questions but I would love some help.
A relative has left me with a 1952 AJS. I have no information on it yet as far as paperwork goes so I don't know what it is.
I believe its a 500cc but again, I'm remote from it and only have some pics. I'm heading out this week to pick it up.

I'd love to know the basics on it starting with just the model. Going from there I'd love to know best steps to check it out, repair and fix some items. Looking at photos I can see fork seal leaks and some engine oil as well. Who knows what else. I know tank is rusty so that will have to be done at some point.
Here is link to the pics I have on it.
https://photos.app.goo.gl/LRvbMhU6G5BMuo9z9

Appreciate any help! Thank you.

p.s. I've owned/fixed/rebuilt a lot of motorcycles but nothing like this.. ;-)
Peter Morris

Re: What do I have here?

Post by Peter Morris »

The engine number will tell you what model it is, as long as it has it's original engine of course.

I am no expert but I think it's probably a Model 20 500cc twin. Engine number would usually be 52 20 ****, 52 being the year, 20 the model. I'll sit back now and wait to be told I'm wrong :rofl:
itmonolith

Post by itmonolith »

Thanks for quick reply. I'll know by tomorrow when I see it in person.

I love motorcycles but like I said I've never had anything this old, not even close. Can I assume I'm preaching to a choir if I ask if these are collectible bikes? Worth fixing?
Rob Harknett

Post by Rob Harknett »

itmonolith wrote:Thanks for quick reply. I'll know by tomorrow when I see it in person.

I love motorcycles but like I said I've never had anything this old, not even close. Can I assume I'm preaching to a choir if I ask if these are collectible bikes? Worth fixing?