Not Matchless or AJS Question - Horns

General purpose topics/chat goes in here
thornebt

Not Matchless or AJS Question - Horns

Post by thornebt »

Sorry, not an AMC question but a quick one that I'm sure someone will know the answer to!

I've fitted twin Fiamm horns on my 100HP Fiat Panda. I basically made connections to split the two wires to the horn into four wires. The wires go to spade connectors on each horn. The horn terminals are not marked + or -. The horns are bolted to brackets fixed to the same mounting point as the original horn. The horns don't work! I've tried swapping the wires on each horn but still not a peep out of them.

I'm not very good at electrical stuff to say the least! What do you think I have got wrong please? I'm now going to find my multimeter!

Cheers. Bruce.
Rob Harknett

Re: Not Matchless or AJS Question - Horns

Post by Rob Harknett »

Have you tried just wiring up one, then taking just the + wire to the second horn. The - wire from the second horn to the horn button. That is for = + live. If - = live, take - to the second horn and + to the button. Wiring both together may be asking the horns to work out of Phase ???? I'm no expect just a suggestion to try.
thornebt

Post by thornebt »

Rob Harknett wrote:Have you tried just wiring up one, then taking just the + wire to the second horn. The - wire from the second horn to the horn button. That is for = + live. If - = live, take - to the second horn and + to the button. Wiring both together may be asking the horns to work out of Phase ???? I'm no expect just a suggestion to try.
I removed both wires from one horn (neither are marked + or -. Still doesn't work. When I fitted the horns I replaced the 20A relay with a 30A relay as per instructions. The 30A relay worked with the original horn as you would expect. I just have the two wires that went to the original horn but I thought that would be all the wiring I would need.

Cheers. Bruce.
Mick D

Post by Mick D »

Hi