Is my battery goosed? (Sorted)

Helpful information and requests for assitance and advice
Member
User avatar
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 6:32 pm
Location: Lancashire

Is my battery goosed? (Sorted)

Postby spookefoote1956 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:08 pm

The Beast has electronic ignition so requires a battery to start. Up until yesterday I could flick the power switch and test the lecky by pressing the horn button or the brake. Now, no horn or brake light. I tested the battery with the multi-meter and it shows a healthy 12 plus volts. I tested the dynamo in accordance the "Matchless Clueless" and all is good there. With the meter across the battery when running and building up the revs it shows the DVR2 is sending a charge to the battery and whadayaknow the horn etc works.

My brain is saying dynamo good, battery not. I've ordered a new one as I'm off to t'isle of man next week.

Any thoughts? Battery that is, not t'isle of man and yes I know the Jampot's on.

Cheers, Chris :? :?
Last edited by spookefoote1956 on Thu Aug 15, 2019 9:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
हरे कृष्ण हरे कृष्ण
Hail Joe Lucas ............ Prince of Darkness!
All my bikes are original........ to me!

Member
User avatar
Posts: 2547
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 1990 12:00 am
Location: HAMPSHIRE UK

Re: Is my battery goosed?

Postby ajscomboman » Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:45 pm

More than likely the battery, it may show a healthy 12V but it doesn't mean there are amps. Probably drops like a stone when a demand is asked of it.

Member
User avatar
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 6:32 pm
Location: Lancashire

Re: Is my battery goosed?

Postby spookefoote1956 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:50 pm

I use a Powerline 12v 7ah battery. Mainly because it fits into the available space. Is that battery up to the job for electronic ignition?
हरे कृष्ण हरे कृष्ण
Hail Joe Lucas ............ Prince of Darkness!
All my bikes are original........ to me!

Member
Posts: 825
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 1990 12:00 am
Location: WEST SUSSEX UK

Re: Is my battery goosed?

Postby g80csp11 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 9:06 pm

the most stupid question . have you checked the voltage elsewhere on the bike not just at the battery . sounds more like a blown fuse or connection has come adrift somewhere

Member
Posts: 1419
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 5:44 pm
Location: Aberdeenshire

Re: Is my battery goosed?

Postby Mick D » Wed Aug 14, 2019 4:33 am

Hi

Put the multimeter across the battery and measure the voltage - with the multimeter still across the battery press the horn or brake, does the voltage drop significantly?

Yes - the battery is flat / not receiving / taking charge

No - Look for the broken connection from the battery to the services

Your battery should be perfectly capable of running the ignition, what make is it, (the ignition)?

Regards Mick

Member
User avatar
Posts: 2547
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 1990 12:00 am
Location: HAMPSHIRE UK

Re: Is my battery goosed?

Postby ajscomboman » Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:04 am

If it was a broken connection/ blown fuse it wouldn't work if the bike was running. As the horn and brake didn't work when the bike was not running but did when it was, would indicate to me that it's more than likely the battery not holding up.

Member
User avatar
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 6:32 pm
Location: Lancashire

Re: Is my battery goosed?

Postby spookefoote1956 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:09 am

Thorspark ignition. I'm leaning towards the battery myself. The new one should arrive today so we'll know for sure later.
हरे कृष्ण हरे कृष्ण
Hail Joe Lucas ............ Prince of Darkness!
All my bikes are original........ to me!

Member
Posts: 1419
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 5:44 pm
Location: Aberdeenshire

Re: Is my battery goosed?

Postby Mick D » Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:10 am

ajscomboman wrote:If it was a broken connection/ blown fuse it wouldn't work if the bike was running. As the horn and brake didn't work when the bike was not running but did when it was, would indicate to me that it's more than likely the battery not holding up.


I know what you're saying but as Chris' wiring is not standard who knows how the dynamo is connected - when running the dynamo could be supplying the services directly.

Regards Mick

Member
Posts: 1419
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 5:44 pm
Location: Aberdeenshire

Re: Is my battery goosed?

Postby Mick D » Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:14 am

Hi

From their 'bumf' the ignition demand is 0.25A so your battery is certainly compatible.

Regards Mick

Member
User avatar
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 6:32 pm
Location: Lancashire

Re: Is my battery goosed?

Postby spookefoote1956 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:32 pm

The battery arrived today while I was out with Mrs Spookefoote buying a greenhouse which blew away earlier in the year. It is used for something called gardening :?

Anyway, I'll fit the battery tomorrow and report back. :D
हरे कृष्ण हरे कृष्ण
Hail Joe Lucas ............ Prince of Darkness!
All my bikes are original........ to me!

Next

Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests