AJS newbie.

Information relating to the Matchless G2 or AJS Model 14 250cc Lightweight
geoffb-63

AJS newbie.

Post by geoffb-63 »

Hi to all, i am a newbie to this site, have just bought myself a Ajs m14 in a million pieces, engine i know is 1960 from prefix on crankcase, however, frame which is no 8562, i do not know what year this relates to, also are there any local sections for the owners club in or around Cleveland area, Northeast. obviously my intention is to join the club and hopefully meet like minded members, regards.
Janet

Re: AJS newbie.

Post by Janet »

Hello and welcome to the club forum. There isn't a section close to you but there are several active members in the vicinity of Cleveland, depending, of course on how far everyone is prepared to travel to meet up. I venture that way occasionally.

I always recommend people joining the club, especially in their first year of ownership, because members can pay an extra £10p.a. with their membership fee, which gives a 10% discount off the cost of most parts from the spares scheme. Having said that, spares for bikes termed lightweights, such as yours, are limited compared with the more common, larger, heavyweight models.The first year is usually when they buy most bits. Also, if your bike needs a new or reclaimed registration, the club dating service is much cheaper for members than non-members.

Several variations on the 250cc lightweights were made over a few years which means that it's not always sensible to assume the all parts are interchangeable, although many are.

I hope you're good at jigsaw puzzles.
clanger9

Post by clanger9 »

Hi Geoff - and welcome!

Congratulations on your project. Expect a bit of head-scratching along the way, but if you stick with it you'll be rewarded with a charming little bike.

The official factory documentation for these bikes is a little on the thin side, so you'll need to get acquainted with Christian's archives here:
http://archives.jampot.dk