Tank/seat gap. Is this correct?

Information relating to the Matchless G2 or AJS Model 14 250cc Lightweight
Lowen1981

Tank/seat gap. Is this correct?

Post by Lowen1981 »

cbranni

Re: Tank/seat gap. Is this correct?

Post by cbranni »

No, your seat location looks good but your tank looks too short, what are the tank fixing like, the tank you have may be an early S model which was shorter and had different rear fixing. The photo isn't very good either, do you have better one.

Colin
only dead fish go with the flow
Lowen1981

Post by Lowen1981 »

The bike is a 1959.

I'm new to AJS, this is my first classic bike. I'll try and get a close up picture.

Most of the tanks I've seen trailing the web have a chrome ridge down the Center with an off set fuel cap
Rob Harknett

Post by Rob Harknett »

Is that 1960? bidding has ended now to get better pic. on e bay
Ashampoo_Snap_2018.09.20_14h22m37s_002_.png
Ashampoo_Snap_2018.09.20_14h20m51s_001_.png
Compare. Colour us 59 B&W 60 note different seats & Tanks
Maybe you have wrong seat or tank depending on year
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Lowen1981

Post by Lowen1981 »

Its a 1959. I think it's been imported as the registration is 1999 on the v5.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
alanengineer

Post by alanengineer »

I think the tank looks wrong. Its only recently i found out the lightweights had 2 different fixing sizes for its tanks.
Have a look under the tank and see if the tank is fitted directly to the mounting brackets and not with stretcher straps.
John Jarrett

Post by John Jarrett »

It looks like the tank is mounted correctly (and it is a 58/59 tank) but the seat looks like it is for the later (bigger/longer) tank so the nose of the seat is further back and the reason you have a gap between the two.
Lowen1981

Post by Lowen1981 »