Wiring, 12v, positive earth butchery.

Information relating to the Matchless G2 or AJS Model 14 250cc Lightweight
Callyloz_LAPSED

Wiring, 12v, positive earth butchery.

Post by Callyloz_LAPSED »

Hi folks,
Newbie here with a '66 G2 CSR.
Bought the bike today and is in running/working condition

I am new to Brit bikes, have tinkered with classic cars and other bikes, but it is my first toe in the Brit scene.

The bike has a 12v conversion, and is running positive earth. I am not too sure on how it has been modified or the components used or why, so was hoping someone could offer some advice.

Here is a link to my google images account, i have always struggled with image sharing on forums, more so since the demise of photobucket.
https://photos.app.goo.gl/Rqv3BMW2xLdfoiZR9

It appears to be using a solid state rectifier (Wassell style?) but also incorporates a 2MC capacitor. The ammeter doesn't really swing, it flickers when the ignition switch is turned on ( goes to neg slightly) then hovers around zero when running.

I wonder if things are fighing each other? I have started unsheathing to get an idea, but wondered if anybody could shed some light on it. I want it as simple as possible really. Ideally negative earth (is there much involved in doing that with my current set up?), resistance wire delete and just plain old 12v. I assume that shouldn't require the capacitor? Hopefully the alternator isn't fried.

Any help is appreciated and thanks for such a smashing site. I've already spent many hours on here today and become a paid up member 🙌
Cheers

Callum
ajscomboman

Re: Wiring, 12v, positive earth butchery.

Post by ajscomboman »

To run the 12v conversion it's been suggested by our harness supplier that a dedicated 12v harness is used as simply bypassing the resistance wire and installing capacitors etc is not the best long term solution.
The club now stock a special 12v conversion harness for this purpose.
dave16mct

Post by dave16mct »