Gear Box help needed

Information relating to the Matchless G5 or AJS Model 8 350cc Lightweight
Rangy65

Gear Box help needed

Post by Rangy65 »

HELP!! I am trying to build up my gear box. It all seem fine until i tighten the six bolts then the output shaft and clutch shaft lock solid. Slack off the screws the box turns freely. i know there must be something binding but can't see anything obvious. This is my first attempt to re-build one of these and i didn't have a complete gearbox to start with.

Firstly any suggestion to the binding issue?

Secondly is there any lightweight owners who would be willing to meet up and show me how do do these box's correctly.

Third i'll be happy to pay someone to fix this is either of the other two options does not work out.

Exasperated

Steve
Les Howard

Re: Gear Box help needed

Post by Les Howard »

http://archives.jampot.dk/Technical/Tra ... ebuild.pdf

This might be of some help?....only if you have not already seen it of course

ATB

Les
Rangy65

Post by Rangy65 »

Thanks Les i have got the actual magazine but the pictures in the archive article are much clearer so its a help. I have discovered that i had missed the condition of the bearing under the clutch operating mechanism pt no 012545 its really stiff. So ordered new part & gaskets from the club this PM.
Ozmadman

Post by Ozmadman »

Rangy65 wrote:HELP!! I am trying to build up my gear box. It all seem fine until i tighten the six bolts then the output shaft and clutch shaft lock solid. Slack off the screws the box turns freely. i know there must be something binding but can't see anything obvious. This is my first attempt to re-build one of these and i didn't have a complete gearbox to start with.Firstly any suggestion to the binding issue?
Secondly is there any lightweight owners who would be willing to meet up and show me how do do these box's correctly.Third i'll be happy to pay someone to fix this is either of the other two options does not work out.Exasperated