AJS Model 8 seized teledraulic forks

Information relating to the Matchless G5 or AJS Model 8 350cc Lightweight
Steve S

AJS Model 8 seized teledraulic forks

Post by Steve S »

Hi, this is my first post having just bought a 1960 Model 8 where the forks appear to be seized. Reading the past discussions on this issue I guess it might be the plastic bushes that are responsible. I've many years' of experience of tearing down bikes and even re-assembling them, but would really appreciate some advice on how to go about doing this. If I think it's beyond my skills, is there a firm in the South East that is recommended?
clive

Re: AJS Model 8 seized teledraulic forks

Post by clive »

Hi Steve welcome, quite a few of the club members have been on a rally this weekend. Not sure about the lightweight forks but I think they fitted the earlier version of the heavyweight forks to some models. May be wrong but if so they are relatively easy to work on. You will need a fork puller to get the stanchions in and out of the headstock, and will need to heat the fork slider with a blow lamp ( moving it around all the time of course) to pull the plastic bush out. I heat it and then trap the slider in a workmate, and pull sharply upwards, taking care to clean the entire shed from the oil sprayed around afterwards.
clive
if it ain't broke don't fix
Mick D

Post by Mick D »

Hi

If the forks have stopped compressing / extending it's probable that the stanchions have gone rusty and are now jammed in the plastic upper bushes or they are bent following a bump, so the normal method of removing the bushes described by Clive will not work.
If this is the case, remove the front wheel and remove the forks from the steering head, the springs and washers / sleeves will lift off now and you will see the condition of the stanchions once you have done this.
Unscrew the chrome sleeves from the tops of the sliders.
Empty out the fork oil via the drain plugs at the bottom of the sliders.