My newly bought AJS 16M won't start.

Information relating to the Matchless G3 or AJS Model 16 350cc Heavyweight
neilp

My newly bought AJS 16M won't start.

Post by neilp »

Hi All - Plse bear with me - i am new to this.

I recently bought a 1957 Track AJS 16M just a few months ago - fulfilling a long time ambition. The wife is still a bit grumpy!

Since i got her i have driven her just a few times, but now when i try to kick start her she won't event fire up, let alone start. She was quite difficult to kick over on the compression stroke when i got her so i have emptied the sump of oil to remove any issue of a sluggish kick start. i have checked to spark plug and it gives what i think is a good spark - gap is 16.5 thousand of an inch. The spark plug was wet when i removed it so i believe fuel is getting through. I filled her up with standard unleaded fuel - post that she has stopped working?

The previous owner was a mechanic and i know he set all the ignition timings just before i bought it. Since then it has only been risen for a few miles so i am at a loss as to why she won't even fire, let alone start. something has changed / happened - could it be the fuel? Could the timing have gone out of sink - but just after a few miles of driving???

Has any one got any ides as to why she won't start? I am doing something blinding obviously wrong. being a new owner of a classic bike i may be doing something wrong

Any insight, ideas and advice is most graciously received.

Best / Neil

Neil
g80csp11

Re: My newly bought AJS 16M won't start.

Post by g80csp11 »