1960 Matchless 350 piston replacement and engine inspection

Information relating to the Matchless G3 or AJS Model 16 350cc Heavyweight
AFSMatchie61

1960 Matchless 350 piston replacement and engine inspection

Post by AFSMatchie61 »

Hi All,
Following on from my ‘piston death' post this thread will chronicle the strip and rebuild. I will need help along the way as I am not very experienced when it comes to ‘bottom ends' ir indeed G3 singles so please do chime in and assume I know nothing!
So the Matchie was running like a champ a few weeks ago when I lost all power at about 50 mph and coasted to a halt, a strip down showed the piston had come apart, the top had Come off and hit the valves and parts of the skirt have gone into the cases. The damage to the piston is remarkable, big splits up the sides too.
The big end has no movement up and down which is good and nor does the little end. Last night I removed the piston and my next step will be to inspect and measure the bore.
I've read a bit about pistons and clearances and it's all as clear as mud! I have been offered NOS pistons and of course there are various new. Once I know what size I suppose I can narrow the field. I believe my old piston was a wire wound low pin (later) job with a split skirt
All thoughts welcome, pics to follow
Cheers
Dave
Last edited by AFSMatchie61 on Tue Oct 13, 2020 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
AFSMatchie61

Re: 1960 Matchless 350 piston replacement and engine inspect

Post by AFSMatchie61 »

2D029799-F0D8-4CCB-A62C-BA7919777F6D.jpeg
E5043E87-DA4B-4F25-919B-61FAF722E2F1.jpeg
918CC461-421D-4795-A805-A1EDA5F1B587.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
AFSMatchie61

Post by AFSMatchie61 »

5B40AEA0-0D3A-47C0-A5AD-FD1996799626.jpeg
1D6FD11F-2B5C-4BF8-8E7E-9B8093AB2E0E.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
alanengineer

Post by alanengineer »