Leaking primary cases!

Information relating to the Matchless G80 or AJS Model 18 500cc Heavyweight.
Moto742

Leaking primary cases!

Post by Moto742 »

So I have a well used g80 and I was wondering if anyone has the solution on stopping the oil from gushing out? I know these things leak a bit but because the early 50's models only have one bolt in the middle it tends to splay out the far edges of either side of the case. Does the spares have new UN dented ones? Or shall I just make sure mine aren't miss shapen and deal with it?
Also does the spares have the original style brass/copper oil lines? Or is there good repro ones?

Thanks I'm just a newbie
Rob Harknett

Re: Leaking primary cases!

Post by Rob Harknett »

Covered many times here search " chaincase etc " for all the answers.
In short, if your cases splay out you may have the wrong inner spacers.
Thats how they get pulled in at the middle. If you have pulled yours in try tapping the outter half out again.
You will note various methods of sealing the cases inc. a new type rubber.
tr7dan

Post by tr7dan »

Hi Rick

of all the questions that get asked on here, apart from 'which is the best oil....' the leaky chaincase question is probably the most contentious.

There are loads of posts on here about solving the problem, just have a search through, and people have their own ways of dealing with it so you can read through and take your pick.

Personally, I use plumbers silicone, I find it quick, easy and it works 100% every time for me.... but then, i's something I use every day of my working life so I am expert in its application.

Good luck

Dan
Moto742

Post by Moto742 »

Yeah I see there is over 200 post concerning chaincases! Hey Rob the info on the spacers seems to be the ticket. How bout the question about oil lines? Thanks fellows
en7jos

Post by en7jos »