Gear change 48 Matchless G80

Information relating to the Matchless G80 or AJS Model 18 500cc Heavyweight.
areg

Post by areg »

I am not new to motorcycles, but the Matchless if the first bike I have that is pre 1980's.

I am new to the bike having just bought it,but have come accross a situation that I am not too sure if it is the way it should be.

Shifting through gears I have a neutral beween each gear. The behavior is not like false neutrals you get on more modern bikes.

It is very consistant. Changing from 1st to second I have to press down the gear lever twice. It works exactly like first shif neutral second shift 2nd, and it fillows in the same pattern for the rest i.e. 2nd to third first shift neutral second shif 3rd and so forth for the 4th.

I do not need to lert go of the clutch, just a double move. The action is so consistant the seems as if that is the correct way.

Is there anything wrong or that is how it should be.

Thanks for your feedbacks
Life is too short, don't take it too seriously.
Biscuit
Deceased

Post by Biscuit »

Definitely wrong! Firstly check that the gear lever is not being obstructed from full movement, ie the exhaust pipe, if this is ok, remove the kickstarter case, you will see a quadrant, operated by the spring box and pawls, this meshes with a small pinion on the end of the selector shaft, both items are stamped with a small'o', which should coincide. If this is ok you will have to go deeper, possibly worn selector forks. I'm assuming you have the relevant manuals, if not do not attempt this until the information is at hand. The Spares Scheme supply manuals, or look here http://217.157.196.176:8181/ajs/Edited by - Biscuit on 21 Aug 2006 11:28:10 AM

areg

Post by areg »

Biscuit, thank you for the valuable information. It appears that the correct box is the Burman CP G45.

The problem (as fun as it is) is not restricted pedal movement touching something else. So will have to dig further.