Model 20 Clutch Mechanism Jaming

Information relating to the Matchless G9 or AJS Model 20 500cc twin
mescal

Post by mescal »

I'll start by making my excuse that I am a relative novice mechanic and do not know the correct terminology for many parts so please excuse me if I do not make sence.[:o)]

I have a problem where I pull on the clutch lever and the mechanism inside the gearbox outer cover that the cable is attached to (sorry I do not know the correct term) gets stuck[:(]. It's as if it is being pulled too far. It is very easy for me to "unstick it" with a screwdriver through the filler hole.

I can not see a way of preventing this from happeing other than resticting how far the cable pulls (ie loosenig the cable), which in turn means that the clutch is not working properly (ie I can not get into gear).

Any ideas, hints, tips, or knowledge greatfully recieved.[:)][:D]

Biscuit
Deceased

Post by Biscuit »

What year, or which gearbox?.

mescal

Post by mescal »

Biscuit
Deceased

Post by Biscuit »