I think its a 1965 G15CS

Information relating to the Matchless G15 or AJS Model 33 750cc twin. This also includes the G15 Mk II and the G15/45
Binduss

I think its a 1965 G15CS

Post by Binduss »

Hi all,
I'm new to the club and this G15CS which I purchased off eBay from a bloke down south who had it imported from Michigan, Detroit. I have no background info on it other than what I was told which was its a 1965 Matchless G15CS that hasn't been started for many years.
I was told it didn't having matching numbers (found out it does - 109024) and no spark (I have spark now by cleaning the points with a toothbrush and wd40).
I have contacted the dating officer and payed my fee but before I receive any info as I don't know when that will be I was wondering if anyone had any inkling on this barn find?
I was also wondering if anyone could identify the parts that aren't original (I think the mud guards, bar, seat and headlamp aren't) for this bike and maybe what bike they are from as I'm sure there are quiet a few from different bikes.
Thank you in advance.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
bjork

Re: I think its a 1965 G15CS

Post by bjork »

Hi Binduss, and welcome to the club. The dating officer is away at the Denmark Rally so you may have to wait a bit longer than normal for a reply. I agree with your thoughts about what is not original there, it does look to be mostly G15CS. As well as the bits you mention, the carb is wrong, looks like a Keihin perhaps. Among the rarer missing bits are the mudguards and fork shroud/headlamp ears. Not too difficult to get suitable looking replacements though. So congratulations! It does look like a good project to make an excellent bike. I've had a G15CS and now have a Mk2 G15 which is nice and sensible but not quite the street hooligan the CS wwas. :)
Using yesterdays technology to create tomorrows problems today
Binduss

Post by Binduss »