1929 V Twin

Information relating to Matchless and AJS Models built prior to 1939
Racetek01

1929 V Twin

Post by Racetek01 »

Hi, I am a newbie here, hailing from Australia, and I am hoping someone on this forum can help me. I am in the process of restoring a 1929 Morgan 3 Wheeler which was fitted with an AJS V Twin side valve engine (engine number M2/50091). When I purchased the car the engine was out of the car and dismantled. Now that it is back together I have to install oil lines and I am not sure exactly how to plumb it. There is a Pilgrim pump attached to the front with 2 ports (inlet and outlet I assume) driven off a camshaft, there is a port on the top rear, between the cylinders, a port on the side of the timing case, below the number one cylinder with B stamped next to it, and whats look like a sump plug at the bottom below that.

There is a hand pump fitted in the dash with a sight glass, and an oil tank with 3 outlets on the bottom. Can anyone tell me how these are all connected together, or possibly provide a diagram.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers
David
Rob Harknett

Re: 1929 V Twin

Post by Rob Harknett »

1929 lubricationb.jpg
The number suggest an early 1929 model 2 AJS ( M=1929 year code letter. ).
Note the diagram is for a 1929 single. Are you sure the hand pump and tank in the car was intended for an AJS engine.
Could they be for Matchless , JAP or some other engine.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
SPRIDDLER

Post by SPRIDDLER »

Welcome, David.
Why are you selling your engine on eBay? Have you given up on the restoration?
Or is someone else working a scam using your photo and eBay i.d.............?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AJS-V-Twin-Mo ... 4617afa244
'There is a tide in the affairs of men
Which taken at the flood............'
Racetek01

Post by Racetek01 »

Rob,