complete novice looking for help.

This area is for discussion/information on the "modern" AJS motorcycles manufactured in China from 2006 onwards.
spraypicswales

complete novice looking for help.

Post by spraypicswales »

Hi all.
Little bit of background. Ive been a driver for 23 years and always intended doing my bike test. As a surprise for my 40th 2 weeks ago my wife booked me in to do my CBT. Having successfully passed this I toiled with the idea of doing DAS straight away or buy a 125 and potter around to get experience on the road first. The buying of a 125 won and yesterday I traveled 2 hours to pick up a second hand AJS Regal Raptor dd125e-8 2011 plate. It is in good condition and I came home like a kid in a candy shop. This morning after insuring and taxing the bike I decided to take it for a spin. The first 4 miles were great and then all of a sudden it lost power. When in first and just releasing clutch, giving a bit of throttle it was crawling at about 2mph. I managed to get it into 2nd then went up 2 more gears reaching a neck breaking 25 - 30 mile an hour. Then I encountered a small hill. To say the bike wouldn't go up it is an understatement and I had to dismount and push the damn thing. I left it for about 5 minutes and then restarted it (starts first time every time no problem) but again in 1st when open throttle and let out clutch at 17 stone I could run faster. So I ended up pushing it the last 2 mile of my journey. This is where my problem lies. I know nothing about bikes and engines (willing to learn). Have been told it could be the carbs or the clutch slipping as well as numerous other things. Being here now on a forum dedicated to this make, I am really hoping someone might be able to steer me in the right direction and put me back to riding instead of running and pushing. Otherwise I could be selling the bike and buying a treadmill. Thanks in advance. Russ.
clive

Re: complete novice looking for help.

Post by clive »