Thinking about a new AJS, Help....

This area is for discussion/information on the "modern" AJS motorcycles manufactured in China from 2006 onwards.
shirt_r

Post by shirt_r »

Thought it would be a good idea to register and get some owner knowledge and input before I let my eyes rule my head...

I am new to biking, going to arrange my CBT and possibly do a full test straight away, depends on the bike,so I’m looking around at bikes...

I Won the Wife over on the idea that it would be a cruiser not a sport (safer of course!!),Also needs to be economical with the current climate a toy and part time commuter needs to be cheap to fill up and run.

I have a AJS dealer near to where I live (5 mins ) and I’m nipping in tomorrow to have a look...

I have had a look on reviews on the internet and the new Chinese produced AJS’s have a mixed review. I believe the MK2 (2011- on) bikes are much better, styling they look great and was wondering about performance and living with it? I know the bike shares DNA with the Johnny Pag bikes which have a good right up...

I want to use the bike as a 50 mile commuter, none rush-hour, on B roads and also for the wife to jump on the back off and to the sea side for the day, you know the dream life of all bikers!!

Question’s then....

•Do you recommend the new AJS bikes? Should I put my money in a VXS Dragstar or similar?

•Is a 125cc going to do the commute, hills and take the wife out all without coughing, struggling up every hill and holding up traffic?

•Is the 125cc any good with it not being fuel injected, economy, running and maintance?

•Do I need the 350cc injection instead of the 125cc?

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I don’t want to get it wrong!!

Cheers Rich
Nearly got the wife to agree, Now just need to find the bike...
itma

Post by itma »

just ask yourself why there are so many almost new AJS on offer on ebay.

quote: I Won the Wife over on the idea that it would be a cruiser not a sport safer of course!!,