New kid on the block,puzzled 14

Information relating to the Matchless G2 or AJS Model 14 250cc Lightweight
gort55

Post by gort55 »

Help,i'm a 59yo newbie to the forum and AJS and hope you guys can advise me on a simple wiring problem i don't understand or i'm a bit of a div.What is the purpose of the RESISTOR WIRE attached to the two White/green wires,and where do they connect to?,other than that i'm quite happy.Thanks for any advice offered.
Roscoe
cbranni

Post by cbranni »

Hi there Roscoe and welcome .............now the dreaded translucent coloured resistor wire hidden away in the lightweight wiring loom, whats it for? well my interpretation is (did I spell that right?) that with engine running and no lights on this wire stops the battery getting over charged in simple terms.
It runs from the earth point of the battery to the light switch with a link going to headlamp shell as an earth.
I have two lightweights and have replaced the rectifier and the resistor wire with an electronic gizzmo that works great, much better control of charging the battery.
If you need more info just ask, there are more learned people on here so they may be able to give you a more detailed answer

Colin
only dead fish go with the flow
gort55

Post by gort55 »

Hello Colin,that sounds good to me,i will check it out tomorrow and let you know what occurs,more info on your GIZMO would be handy(yes you spelt it correctly)Thanks for now,Roscoe.
Roscoe
Janet

Post by Janet »

Colin Farrington makes wiring looms so he may be able to add to cbranni's answer.

Definitely being a div, I had no idea what the wire was for but it was in the loom, so in the loom it stayed. I did change the rectifier for a regulator/rectifier and added a fuse to the system.

I wouldn't have bothered if I hadn't melted my electrics but, since by then it was broke, I thought I might as well fix it.
CR

Post by CR »