G5 Gearbox

Information relating to the Matchless G5 or AJS Model 8 350cc Lightweight
colinlinden

G5 Gearbox

Post by colinlinden »

Hi everyone, I am new to the classic bike scene & after a short search for a bike I came across a 1960 Matchless G5.
If I may, I'd like to ask for a little help.
The bike is running well apart from the gear box. It jumps out of top gear at exactly 60mph.
After searching the site I came across the workshop instruction manual, inside I read that this is a common fault on early gear boxs & gives the following replacement parts.

Sleeve Gear part no. 044075
Sliding Gear part no. 044076

My question is, are these replacement parts still avalible today?

Sorry if this question has been asked before, but I have searched the forum & could not find an answer.

Thankyou in advance for any help or advice you can give to a novice.
Colin.
Matchless_Mayhem

G5 Gearbox

Post by Matchless_Mayhem »

Hi Colin

Try a search through the Club Spares Scheme:

CLUB > SPARES SCHEME > SPARES LISTING

Good luck.
Who, me!?
cbranni

G5 Gearbox

Post by cbranni »

Hi Colin and welcome to the club, your G5 must be going well ............60??? and jumps out of top gear, maybe its telling you something
Seriously.......you are on the right track.........what number is your gearbox?, they were modified after number 2500, so if your gearbox is before you may need to do the mod, if its after 2500 have a look at the plunger for wear or damage and the spring for weakness.
Let us know what you find,

Colin
Edited by - cbranni on 22 Oct 2012 11:18:48 PM
only dead fish go with the flow
colinlinden

G5 Gearbox

Post by colinlinden »

Hi Matchless_Mayhem & cbranni, thankyou for responding so quickly.
I have searched the club parts catalogue & online parts service but can't find these part No's. I was just wondering if anyone else out there has come across this problem + how they delt with it.