First breakdown

Helpful information and requests for assitance and advice
Alexlib

First breakdown

Post by Alexlib »

1966 G3 with 500 conversion.
Went for a ride yesterday, after 60 miles at A road speeds going up hill on a duel carriageway the bike wouldn’t take more than three quarters throttle, shortly afterwards on a back road the bike started to misfire then stopped. Having no tools on me I waited for RAC.
The RAC man confirmed spark and cleaned the plug, the bike then started and seemed to run okay taking it easy.
No wanting to stop the engine I left it on tickover for a number of minutes .
Oil began to pump from the breather pipe near the alternator. Is this normal, it stopped when I started riding again.
The misfire and cut out returned later that day , I cleaned the carburettor jets and the bike seemed better, I suspect water in the petrol.
Grateful for any advice
dave16mct

Re: First breakdown

Post by dave16mct »

Difficult to diagnose from afar but if you suspect the fuel put fresh fuel in and try that. Only try one thing at a time. Next I would try a new condensor or a good old Lucas one, often the cause of a misfire. (Are the points slightly burnt looking? Clean ad reset them.) Next I would try a new plug. Next I would check the tappets, should spin freely on TDC. Good luck.
Dave
Alexlib

Post by Alexlib »

Thank you , I will try that , the oil leak on tickover, is this normal? Does the scavenge rate on tickover lead to a build up of oil in the sump?
dave16mct

Post by dave16mct »

No it shouldn't be pumped out, just a few drips after stopping especially if on the propstand. Is there any blue smoke from the exhaust? Is the oil returning to the oiltank OK? Just thought , if the plug is getting very oily it could be causing your misfire.
Dave.
Alexlib

Post by Alexlib »

Thanks Dave
It only pumps out after tickover for 3-5 mins , if I rev the motor the oil stops.
The oil return seems to be as it should be from reading other threads.