What I presume is the 'Gearbox Adjuster'

Information relating to the Matchless G80 or AJS Model 18 500cc Heavyweight.
AngleseyAJS

What I presume is the 'Gearbox Adjuster'

Post by AngleseyAJS »

Good afternoon,

I'm very new to the world of classic bikes but have always had a keen interest.
I've just acquired a 1955 AJS 18s. It's not been ridden for a few years but has been run periodically and kept in good condition.
As the summer has already gone! I thought it would be a good idea to go through it all and check everything over, we have found issues with the lights, battery and dynamo, no doubt that will be a future post! 😅
On having a good look around I've found an adjuster is loose on one side, just above the gearbox. I've hopefully added some pictures to the post.
I think it's for adjusting the gearbox drive chain tension but I'm not sure so can't really search for it with out the correct term. The bolt is still visible in the hole and does move if you touch it.
Does anyone know how I get at the other end of it to tighten it back up, is there access behind the primary chain case? Does it all have to come off?
I'd really appreciate your help.
Regards
Chris
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
dave16mct

Re: What I presume is the 'Gearbox Adjuster'

Post by dave16mct »

Nothing needs removing but the gearbox fixings are hard to get at. The top fixing should be a bolt. Don't over tighten it and make sure you're checking the tightest part of the chain. There's always a tight spot on the chain. Better too slack than too tight.
Dave.
AngleseyAJS

Post by AngleseyAJS »

dave16mct wrote: Mon Sep 18, 2023 3:13 pm Nothing needs removing but the gearbox fixings are hard to get at. The top fixing should be a bolt. Don't over tighten it and make sure you're checking the tightest part of the chain. There's always a tight spot on the chain. Better too slack than too tight.
Dave.
Thats for the reply Dave,