G12 CSR primary chain tension - lower gearbox bolt access ? ?

Information relating to the Matchless G12 or AJS Model 31 650cc twin
lochnagar

G12 CSR primary chain tension - lower gearbox bolt access ? ?

Post by lochnagar »

Dear All,
I'm new to the delights of Plumstead's products, having spent the last 58 years working on Ducatis, and at the Bonhams October Stafford auction I purchased the A.R.E. museum G12 CSR. Now in the process of preparing for road use after mony a year in the museum which involves a partial strip and rebuild with a copious application of Copaslip on all external threads. Two problems encountered :-

1. How does one access the lower gearbox mounting nuts to slacken and adjust the primary chain tension - 18mm spanner fits but ?
Does one have to remove the exhaust and oil feed / return pipes ?
Or the removal of the primary chain case assembly ? (A daft idea as with the chain off what's there to tension ?).

2. Removal of the front footrests with the supposed retaining nuts and washers removed ?

Finally I've a need for the chain case cover and rocker box gaskets, who's the recommended supplier for Matchless spares ?

Any help will be greatly appreciated, Thanks.
dave16mct

Re: G12 CSR primary chain tension - lower gearbox bolt access ? ?

Post by dave16mct »

Firstly do not use metric spanners, get yourself a set of Whitworth spanners and 3/8" drive sockets. You will probably find that you can just slacken the top mounting bolt and then adjust by moving the gearbox backwards if it's too slack. You will have to lever the box forwards if it's too tight. Better to be too slack than tight and don't forget you will have to adjust the rear chain afterwards. I don't understand about the footrests, they just pull off after the nuts are removed unless you've got the competition type which fit over the frame tubes. If you're not a club member you can get get all your spares from AMC Classic Spares.
Dave.
ajscomboman

Post by ajscomboman »